| Klein Welmoed (Usana Wine Farm) | |||||||
| Physical Address: | Off the R310 | Erf: | Applicable Legislation | ||||
| Architectural Period: | Date built: | Older than 60 years: | unassessed | PREV. NATIONAL MONUMENT: | |||
| Style: | Type of building: |
![]() Date of photograph(s): } |
|||||
| Zoning: | Use: | ||||||
| Heritage Values | |||||||
| Rarity: | Historical: | ||||||
| Aesthetical: | Technological: | ||||||
| Cultural: | Social History: | ||||||
| Slave History: | Present NHRA protection: | S34 | |||||
| Heritage Analysis | |||||||
| SITE & STRUCTURE DESCRIPTION: | A linear werf space set between the R310 and the Eerste River, with barns in the pattern seen elsewhere along this stretch of road, and a farmhouse that has a Cape Dutch core but some Victorian elaborations. One of the later barns has gables tin the Cape Revival style. Werf walls, avenues of trees and pasture to the river are all contributing elements to a very intact and authentic farm werf. | ||||||
| History: |
Deduction of Welmoed. The farm was first transferred to one of the van der Byl sons - Philippus Johannes van der Byl. In 1759 the farm was transferred to Jan de Villiers. |
||||||
| Social History: | |||||||
| Alterations: | |||||||
| General Evaluation: | |||||||
| Suggested Grading: | IIIA | ||||||
| Date of Survey: | 2016 | ||||||