News and Awards

Poetic design in Beirut

13 December 2021

Bicycle garage is design project of the year

13 December 2021

Covid-19 influences on 2021 Liveability ratings

3 November 2021

South African Architectural firm wins international Docomono award

3 November 2021

Mayat Hart Architects and Heritage Consultants from Johannesburg recently won in the category Educating Practices at the international 16th Docomono Rehabilitation Award (DRAW21). This category refers to pioneering studies and low budget interventions that have contributed to raising awareness of the need to preserve modernist architecture in challenging locations and conditions. Mayat Hart restored Aiton […]

Sir David Adjaye wins prestigious 2021 RIBA Royal Gold Medal

8 November 2020

The Royal Institute of British Architecture (RIBA) 2021 gold medal, went to Sir David Adjaye for his significant influence on contemporary architecture.

Fresh insights at Innovation Conference

25 November 2014

The recent Second Innovation Conference of the Stellenbosch Innovation District (SID) brought together a variety of local and international speakers and participants at Stellenbosch to discuss questions such as:

– How is Africa going to respond to the global movement of Smart Cities?
– How could Stellenbosch become a smart, people-centred space in Africa?
– How could innovation in Stellenbosch be developed and consolidated

Gehry’s new Paris museum: boat, whale or crystal palace?

24 November 2014

With the Guggenheim Bilbao, architect Frank Gehry managed to turn around the future of a dying city – and at its best – to change it. It remains to be seen whether his new – contested – museum for LVMH will be able to do the same for a less popular part of Paris.

2014 Stirling award to Everyman

24 November 2014

The Stirling prize, one of the most important awards for architecture, was awarded for a theatre this year. Bonfires are ablaze among those that believe that this heralds a shift towards being less elitist in their choices among the panel of Stirling Prize adjudicators.